Tuesday, March 9, 2010

2010 CBS March Madness Announcers Revealed

While exact games and locations obviously will not be known until after Selection Sunday, CBS sent out a press release today announcing their 8 announce pairings for this year's NCAA Tournament. And to keep you on the edge of your seat, there are two surprises. For starters, an announcer that we all thought retired from college basketball is not actually retired just yet and, alas, the epic pairing of WenzelJack is no more! So without further ado, here are your 8 announce teams for CBS' coverage of the 2010 NCAA Division I men's basketball tournament!

Jim Nantz and Clark Kellogg
Dick Enberg and Jay Bilas
Verne Lundquist and Bill Raftery
Gus Johnson and Len Elmore
Kevin Harlan and Dan Bonner
Ian Eagle and Jim Spanarkel
Tim Brando and Mike Gminski
Spero Dedes and Bob Wenzel

Both changes garner an "ugh" from me. As much as I love Dick Enberg, keeping up with basketball was the first thing to go with age and there is no sign of him ever coming back. Sadly, he is likely to do nothing but embarrass himself this year. The only game he did with CBS all year was the Arch Madness title game and now he is going to call big tournament games? With the slow senility that Enberg is descending into, this has trainwreck written all over it.

The other change, is the removal of the Jack from WenzelJack. Now it's WenzelDedes. Or something. As horrible a color commentator as Wenzel is, I always sort of enjoyed Bolerjack's work. He was clearly passionate about the game and was very excitable, though being stuck with a horrible analyst did him no favor. Now we've got the very dull Spero Dedes with Bob Wenzel. Kill me now.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Read the Commenting Guidelines before commenting.