Tuesday, March 10, 2009

More Champions!

It was somewhat of a surprising night as Cleveland State, Western Kentucky, and North Dakota State (no folks, that is not a typo, they actually have buildings in North Dakota) have all qualified for the NCAA tournament. Of course, the surprises are that Cleveland State beat Butler and North Dakota State has a basketball team North Dakota State won the Summit League.

So what does this mean for the NCAAs? Well, Butler is now an unexpected at-large team, and perhaps more importantly, someone's bubble just burst, and there's a good chance that may have been St. Mary's bubble. Also, maybe South Carolina or one of the many Big 10 teams. Here is the updated list of teams who qualified.

America East:
Atlantic Sun: East Tennessee State
Atlantic 10:
Big East:
Big Sky:
Big South: Radford
Big 10:
Big 12:
Big West:
Colonial Athletic: Virginia Commonwealth
Conference USA:
Horizon League: Cleveland State
Ivy League: Cornell
MAAC: Siena
Missouri Valley: Northern Iowa
Mountain West:
Ohio Valley: Morehead State
Pac 10:
Patriot League:
Southern: Chattanooga
Summit League: North Dakota State
Sun Belt: Western Kentucky
West Coast: Gonzaga

To be determined by the end of Wednesday: Northeastern Conference

Video: Cleveland State takes the Horizon League championship.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Read the Commenting Guidelines before commenting.